top of page
Search

A Brush With Greatness

I'm as excited as anybody about today, KC Chiefs in the Super Bowl again is almost surreal to me. I've been a fan for a long time, heck I remember watching Len Dawson play for Hank Stram.

I played sports all the way through High School, but football's always been my favorite. I was even fortunate enough to play on a college intramural football team.

So when I was thinking about this day, and the Chiefs, I remembered my brush with greatness for a week, starting this day in 2013.

As Director of the Performing Arts Series at UCM, I was lucky enough to meet some of the icons of the performing arts, so you can imagine my excitement when I picked up stage, theatre and film veteran actor John Amos(who also played for the KC Chiefs!) at the airport to kick off a week of residency in Warrensburg on February 7.

He was a great guy, so gracious and down-to-earth, and we had a fun, full week, including going to KC for the morning show on KCTV5, hosting an acting session with UCM Theater, talking to the Africana Studies class on campus, and ending with a presentation of his 1-man play, "Halley's Comet", along with an ABC Choir performance at Hendricks Hall.



John and I did a lot that week, we drove around town quite a bit, and I'll never forget when he asked me to try to get Len Dawson's phone # so he could touch base. (They played together). I was able to get Len's home phone #, and I sat in the car with John while the 2 talked about old times, and I was like, ok, this is cool.

Yes, that's when I loved my job, and was so lucky to be able to call one of my favorite actors and persons, my friend for a week.



99 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

More Than Coincidence - Much, Much More

So something happened to me on my Friday radio show and it really freaked me out; I'm getting chills just thinking about it again! The other night I had a YouTube video pop up on my tv of the first Mi

Maybe I Had The Spirit All Along

So lately I'd been sharing on-air that I was having a problem getting into the Christmas spirit. Not that I have anything to complain about; quite the contrary, as 'they' say. (When you find out who '

So This Happened Today

So I called my wife today on Google Chat, and I used the video chat because, well, I knew she would want to se my sexy mug, right? Here's how the conversation went downhill quickly: ME: So I'll be hom

bottom of page